Christmas Cards or The Lack Thereof

I didn’t get Christmas cards mailed out this year. The task kept getting bumped down the priority ladder–what with work, school, and a new kid and all.

Oddly enough, we didn’t recieve as many Christmas cards and letters this year as we did last year.  My first thought was that I get what I give, but then I heard a few other people say that they didn’t get as many cards this year as they did last year either. Funny how that happened.

Actually, I have a theory for what sapped our Christmas card sending energy: Blogging! Although this isn’t my excuse, my guess is that more people are blogging nowadays and we expect that people keep up on our goings-on by reading our blogs and there’s no need for an annual update or Holidays hello.

In the past I’ve heard people say they don’t like the annual canned family Christmas letter update because they feel it’s a “brag fest” or that it’s too impersonal. Both reasons are not very kind to say, in my opinion. But if you think about it, Blogging is even less personal. That is… unless you leave comments on each others blogs!

I know I’m not the greatest at leaving comments and I pledge to be better because I know it really is a great way to keep people connected. Besides that, it’s fabulous blogging etiquette.

What do you think?

7 thoughts on “Christmas Cards or The Lack Thereof

  1. I had the same problem that you had, so on Christmas Eve I put an electronic card on my blog and called it good enough. I do think that there is something special about getting a letter in the mail, but it seems we are all going a million different ways, so I’d rather stay in touch via a blog than not at all.

  2. I like the new blog Lyns. I am bad at leaving comments. It is hard to keep up with it all, blogs, Facebook, Twitter, email. I tend to focus on one and neglect the others for a while. I will do better:)

  3. Hey Lyns, I like the new blog! I agree with your Christmas Card theory. I also think that the world is quickly changing and that the only way people communicate anymore is through technology and gadgets and that the hand written word, mail and an actual phone call instead of texting is quickly becoming history. I worry about it but then I am guilty of it as well.

  4. LOVE your new blog and more than that I love being able to read your beautiful prose-like writing. So glad to be updated on Samantha. I just think it is prophetic that her name is Samantha and I love her already. Your mom’s stories of her are adorable and I can’t wait to meet her.
    Christmas Cards – For the first year in several I had the energy to get mine out BEFORE Christmas! Then got Katie’s, Greg and Larene’s and one other of the Hawkins family back! Guess in the passing years I haven’t kept my address book updated either. I agree with Kim, I think hand written letter are a thing of the past, like it or not, and isn’t it wonderful the Lord provided email for our busy lives!
    Love and hugs to the three of you!
    Sue

  5. I love your blog and evolving extraordinarily is so perfect for you and Alan, there are surprises and/or changes around every corner for you guys. I think you have both seen the last of “Routine” “normal” or “ordinary” in your lives together!

Your comments are the butter to my bread.

