NaNoWriMo 2009

Have any of you written a novel or tried? I’ve always wanted to. I’ve allowed discouraging words to keep me from doing it for many years. I know…everyone wants to write novel and of that total, a minuscule ever get published. Now I say, so what? That’s not stopping me anymore.

NaNoWriMo gave me the push to finally do it. The acronym stands for National Novel Writing Month which has been slated to be November of every year. A group of 21 people started it as a way to keep themselves busy and now it’s a global project. Here’s a brief intro of what it’s about:

“National Novel Writing Month is a fun, seat-of-your-pants approach to novel writing. Participants begin writing November 1. The goal is to write a 175-page (50,000-word) novel by midnight, November 30.

Valuing enthusiasm and perseverance over painstaking craft, NaNoWriMo is a novel-writing program for everyone who has thought fleetingly about writing a novel but has been scared away by the time and effort involved.”

I’m super behind on my word count (they break it down to be 15,000 a week), but that’s because I have to live too. I’m not sure what peoples’ lives are like who are already at that goal. Maybe it’s due to years of experience in cranking out the words, and maybe I’ll find out one day. Since this is my first time writing a novel, I’m pretty pleased with my 5,753 words at the end of week one.

Although a few of the winner’s have gone on to be published authors, the incentive is purely the challenge of it. Here’s what you really win.

“If you write 50,000 words of fiction by midnight, local time, November 30th, you can upload your novel for official verification, and be added to our hallowed Winner’s Page and receive a handsome winner’s certificate and web badge.”

Here’s to catching up!

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2009

  1. I’ve never heard of this. It is so awesome. I’m very interested in your story and how it is going. I wish I had started at the beginning of November. i really need a push, but I am having a lot of trouble finding time to write.
    Hey, if you are free, you could come to the Book Group meeting at my house, this Thursday at 12:00. I miss you!

Your comments are the butter to my bread.

