Small Choices: Mystery

Mystery

“Why is a raven like a writing desk?” – Mad Hatter, Alice in Wonderland

The category of Mystery in Sarah Ban Breathnach‘s suggested list is about imagination, fantasy, and fairy tales. There are some things in life that we love and we just don’t know why. There’s no need to explain it. Just enjoy, embrace, and celebrate them.


We went to see Alice in Wonderland today. The original story is definitely fantastical so by the above definition I shouldn’t have to explain why I love it. But the more I thought about the movie after seeing it, the “curiouser and curiouser” I got.

Here are my top 5 reasons for wanting to go see the movie:

#5 –  I thought I liked the book when I read it as a child. I will be reading it again now. (Way to go Disney on getting me to desire to read more!)

#4 – Tim Burton movie. I’m a fan of most of his films–not all.

#3-  My middle name is Alice.

#2-  Samantha begged to go.

#1- Johnny Depp.

Ok, so #1 & 2 were really a tie for getting me to the theater opening weekend, but only because I wasn’t sure Samantha would like it. If I didn’t anticipate her reaction to be, “It was weird”, then I might have listed her as #1.


Top 5 reasons I enjoyed the movie:

#5- Alice is played by lesser known/unknown actress, Mia Wasikowska. I like that in classics. And she is great in it.

#4- Wasn’t as creepy as it looked to be. In fact, watching it reminded me a lot of the feelings that came from seeing The Labrynth for the first time. Sweet strangness. Tim Burton. Dark and twisted, but wonderfully imaginative.

#3- March Hare. He makes me laugh. He represents what we all feel like at times. Crazy!

#2- Johnny Depp. He’s so darn lovable in this movie!

#1- I never get tired of the “creating my own path” storyline played out on screen. Knowing the me that I was at age 10, I believe this movie would have been my new favorite.

Samantha’s reaction: “It wasn’t what I expected.”

A lesson for us all: Imagination, fantasy, and fairy tales… Aren’t they all meant to quell expectations?

3 thoughts on “Small Choices: Mystery

Your comments are the butter to my bread.

