Relationships: Parenting One-oh-Something

Relationships

“No matter how calmly you try to referee, parenting will eventually produce bizarre behavior, and I’m not talking about the kids.”  ~Bill Cosby, Fatherhood, 1986

___________________________________________________________

Today was one of these kind of days.

That’s her grumpy, stomping-off face. As you can see by the sunshine and lack of snow on the ground, this photo was taken in the summer. ‘The look’ has evolved with the added complication of a little girl growing up too fast for her britches. In recent months it has also been accompanied a time or two by the statement, “You are not my mom!”

As a result of today’s incident, the bizarre behavior from me and her led to mental exhaustion! which then led to my getting behind on the blogging front.

I can happily report, however, that we’ll get over it because I’ve seen the future. That’s the good thing about time.

The moral of the story is… There’s no such thing as Parenting 101. It’s strictly off the books with this one. It’s about prayer at all costs. And never, I repeat, NEVER underestimate the power of PMS in an almost 11 year old.

I’m happy to be me, because, OH the unexplored waters I get to navigate with my co-captain!

2 thoughts on “Relationships: Parenting One-oh-Something

Your comments are the butter to my bread.

