Mystery: Unexplained Taste in Music

Mystery

“Those who dwell among the beauties and mysteries of the earth are never alone or weary of life.” – Rachel Carson

________________________________________________________________

People (my mother, in particular) often wonder where the ‘dark side’ of me comes from. I’ve seen that perplexed look on my mother’s face and then her reply, “Why do you like that?” I love that about my mom because it means she is working to understand me better. She’s inquisitive like that, which is also why she is so stinkin’ smart. There are many facets to explore on this topic, but today I’m referring to music.

One of my dark chocolate layers includes my love for music that doesn’t seem to make much sense on the surface. I’m a sucker for bands/artists that have an awesome beat, a wide range of instruments, and catchy-but-complex and heavy lyrics. My favorites include U2, Coldplay, Switchfoot–to name my top faves. This joy in life has deepened after seeing Coldplay in concert a year and a half ago.

I’m not really sure why I like them so much. I think it comes from the same part of my brain that fell in love with Shakespeare plays at the age of 10. So, see Mom, it’s your fault. You’re the one that took me to see Othello at the Utah Shakespearean Festival. It’s the puzzle of it all that I like to work at.

Their lyrics aren’t predictable. They give me cause to reflect, to interpret their meaning literally and how I might see the world differently than the norm.

Here are some lyrics that I let swirl around in my noggin.

U2 – “Yaweh”
Take these shoes
Click clacking down some dead end street
Take these shoes and make them fit
Take this shirt
Polyester white trash made in nowhere
Take this shirt and make it clean (clean)
Take this soul stranded in some skin and bones
Take this soul and make it sing (sing)

U2 – “In the Name of Love”
One man come in the name of love
One man come and go
One come he to justify
One man to overthrow

In the name of love
What more in the name of love
In the name of love
What more in the name of love

Coldplay – “Clocks”
Come out upon my seas
Curse missed opportunities
Am I, a part of the cure
Or am I part of the disease

Coldplay – “Viva la Vida”
One minute I held the key
Next the walls are closed on me
And I discover that my castles stand
Upon pillars of salt and pillars of sand

Switchfoot – “On Fire”
I’m standing on the edge of me
I’m standing on the edge of everything I’ve never been before.
And I’ve been standing on the edge of me
Standing on the edge

And I’m on fire
When You’re near me
I’m on fire
When You speak
(Yea) I’m on fire

Switchfoot – “Hello Hurricane”
I’ve been watching the skies
They’ve been turning blood red
There is not a doubt in my mind
There’s a storm up ahead

Hello Hurricane
You’re not enough
Hello Hurricane
You can’t silence my love
I’ve got doors and windows boarded up
All your dead end fury is not enough
You can’t silence my love

These bands are all classic yet eclectic. Can’t beat that combo in my book!

Anybody have an inside on winning some U2 tickets?!

4 thoughts on “Mystery: Unexplained Taste in Music

  1. Parker, I do like Radiohead sometimes, but they’re not my favorite. I may have to allow them to grow on me some more.

    Thanks for the reminder, Adaire. It’s still on my To-Write-About List.

  2. I love this post, and I love the words to the songs.

    I never think of your strange taste in some music as a dark side. Actually it is quite bright and dazzling!

Your comments are the butter to my bread.

