Entertainment: Predictable & Mysterious

Entertainment

“I do not use profanity in my novels. My characters all go to church.” ~Nicholas Sparks

_____________________________________________________________

I will never forget reading my first Nicholas Sparks novel. I was driving to New Mexico with some friends for a summer vacation and read The Notebook . I cried. It hit me a bit harder because my grandpa who had Alzheimer’s died not long before I read it, but I loved it!

I’m one of those people who likes movies and novels that don’t necessarily have a happy ending. I like happy ending stories and unpredictable mystery novels just as well. But in Sparks’ novels, I like that people are changed for the better because of a tragedy. It’s not senseless tragedy.

There’s a fairly new In-N-Out Burger near home and that means long lines. They’re quicker than the line would lead you to believe, but slow enough that I could read while I waited in my car. As I pulled up to the window to pay,  the girl at the window saw The Last Song by NS on my lap. She asked, “Are you liking that one so far?” Before I could respond she excitedly told me, “I’ve read every one of his novels and LOVE them all!”

His books are fun that way. Easy read. Good love stories, even if they’re a bit predictable, but I enjoy reading how NS will unfold the plot this time. Which character is going to die this time? How will they find God in their trials?

One reason I wanted to read The Last Song is because Samantha is dying to see the soon-to-be-released movie — it has Miley Cyrus in it. I wanted to have a heads-up. I’ve decided that the book is PG-13 and although she pretends to take off with it like she’s going to read it, I won’t let her. I’m happy to know the movie is rated PG.

My favorite line of The Last Song is where one of the main characters is reflecting on his life. I like it by itself, but it can also sum up the way I feel about my favorite NS novels (I didn’t love them all)…

“In the beginning there is mystery, in the end there is confirmation, but it’s in the middle where all the emotion resides to make the whole thing worthwhile.” (p. 445)

One thought on “Entertainment: Predictable & Mysterious

Your comments are the butter to my bread.

