Some Day: Where It Is We’re Going

Some Day

The doors we open and close each day decide the lives we live.” – Flora Wittemore

_________________________________________

In some ways it seems sudden, but in reality it’s not. We’ve known something needed to change with our career since November, but we learned that wasn’t the time.

December came and I began a new experiment in my home town area. I started providing massage to clients in the area at an established hair salon. The winter months were slow, but by April I was turning people away from my limited two days a month.

I was skeptical about working in the area; it’s a small town after all and I didn’t trust that there was enough interest. But the clients have been so genuine and kind and I really enjoyed working with them. It’s been such a hassle to work around my Solase (Orem massage job) schedule and I have felt torn.

The last time I went down to work on my ‘out-of-town’ clients, I came home to my parents (where I stay while I’m working in the area) and told them, “I wish I could figure out a way to be here more often.” I almost didn’t believe that I said those words because it was never my intention to end up back there.

And then I checked my voice mail.

A well-respected man (I have since learned) had heard of my work in Huntington and was interested in whether I wanted to provide my services at his new salon as well. He’s recently remodeled the place in Price, has a personal investment in its success besides monetary called his grand-daughters as the stylists, and he’s opening this week (May 5th). He asked me if I would be willing to meet with him, see the place, talk about massage and my ideas. I made the trip last week, Monday.

In the end he made us (me and Alan) a generous offer that I was eager to ponder and discuss with Alan asap.

Discuss we did. Research we did. Pray we did. And moving we are.

Tomorrow is a day of notices to the landlord and the boss. Those are the things I dislike the most about change. Change is scary and none of us like it although we are all surprisingly at peace with this one.

Here’s a poor quality photo of the salon from my phone camera. They’re not quite finished with getting the decor up where it needs to be, but it really is beautiful.

It’s called “Enjoy” salon. I start June 1st. We’ll move (most likely) May 29th.

Some day we’ll see how it all turns out.

4 thoughts on “Some Day: Where It Is We’re Going

  1. The salon really is nice. I am still mad at you for leaving, but I’m excited for you too. Samantha is ok with the move too?

  2. I’m so happy for you! That is really exciting news. It’s making me sad that we haven’t gotten together more often while you’ve been so close. We need to do it before you go. I can’t believe I haven’t even met Samantha yet. Bowling with the kids maybe?

  3. Awesome! Now I know where to book my massage when I’m home for visits. Also, where to get gift certificates for my family. 🙂

Your comments are the butter to my bread.

