A Preview of the Rest of the Hawaii Story

Stroop Therapie. Dutch translation = Syrup Therapy. A new Evolutionarily series chronicling the moments that left their mark during a time of self discovery and renovation.

__________________

During my vacation to Hawaii, I wrote very little about the chaos my head and heart were still sorting through. This was only 6 weeks after my divorce. I was trying not to dwell on how raw I was. After sitting through many Army briefings with Alan post-deployment, I now know I was going through Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD). I had nearly all of the symptoms. Reliving the experiences, feeling fear that something bad is lurking around the corner, heart racing, sleeplessness, anxiety, headache, stomach ache, nightmares, irritability, jumpiness, guilt, feeling alone… This explains the outburst of acne for three solid months.

What did I do? I just kept praying and leaning on that promise of joy. Hawaii is not the only salve for such wounds, but it was proving to be a good choice. And I ordered Proactiv for my acne.

__________

My mom asked if I would put all of my island days on my blog. I think it’s her attempt to relive those glorious days. I don’t blame her. Reading it again brought the feelings, the smells, and more memories not written in My First-Evers journal.

I’ve been working on compiling the rest of Hawaii in a post, but the CD with all my Hawaii photos is packed in a storage unit that I haven’t been able to get to for the past few days. I simply cannot publish my post 3/4 finished.

Tomorrow…

The remaining 6 days of the trip, one syrupy moment after another.

Your comments are the butter to my bread.

