First Day in Germany

I don’t have a lot of expectations while I’m living in Germany during this year, but I do expect to be a student of many things and want to share some of what I learn here. I don’t intent to blog about every experience, but I previously wrote about “firsts” and how they leave impressions forever; my first day in Germany is no exception.

Yesterday was a bit surreal. I was scheduled to go on a 4:30 p.m. flight but the airline called me to say the flight would be delayed a day in either Iceland or Oslo and neither place would accept my dog for that time without quarantining him indefinitely. Because of this, the airline found me a new flight but wanted to know, “How soon can you get to the airport?” I was supposed to check in 2 hours early. The new flight left at 2:00. It was 11:15 and the airport was 45 minutes to an hour away. And I hadn’t even showered. Thanks to the help of my sister and her fancy foot work we made it to the airport by 12:20. Whew! All was well. I was arriving in Frankfurt earlier than planned and we had less time on the plane which was excellent for my worries about Woody in cargo. The change of flight was an all around miracle in my book.

My Germany experience got a jump start and it probably contributed to my not sleeping on the plane. Between that and the aching legs and crying babies, my ZZZ’s amounted to about 15 minutes of the 9.5 hour flight. But I decided not sleep once I got here. I was too happy to be back with Alan and looking forward to his tour.

Everything I saw seemed slightly familiar because Alan knew where he was going and I recognized things from his photos. I just wanted to do and see as much as I could muster the strength for. By the end of the day I was feeling overwhelmed. This morning I decided it was mostly jet lag. Still, it was worth it.

First thing we did was move into our new little corner. I just realized how literal that description is, even though I meant it metaphorically. Maybe that’s what I’ll name this place (you know I have to name it). Little Corner. Or how about “The Cupboard Under the Stairs”? Or, “The War Drobe”? At any rate, it’s small. BUT, we don’t have to pay for utilities, internet, TV, parking, use of the bicycles, or a gym membership. AND, we’re putting our name on the list for a bigger place. We have to have room for people to stay. Right now–no can do.

Alan and I caught the nearest tram and went to Aldstadt or “Old Town”. It’s a street lined with shops and restaurants taking you past the Church of the Holy Spirit on to the Neckar river and the Old Bridge where there is a spectacular view of the Heidelberg Castle.

There’s more to this story, but I’m saving it for my post to come about meeting the Germans and a personal encounter with the Gestapo.

The Old Bridge

2 thoughts on “First Day in Germany

  1. Hi, You look at home there. What a wonderful and ancient place. I don’t think I can really grasp the reality of something that Old. Looking forward to more information!

Your comments are the butter to my bread.

