I Can Do Hard Things

If any of you are like me and have social anxiety issues, you know how hard it is to make yourself attend a social function–let alone mingle with people you’ve just met or strangers you haven’t.

Today I prayed and then forced myself to go–without my husband, a master mingler–to the church activity commemorating Pioneer Day (which all of us Mormons celebrate, even though it’s only a holiday Utah.) Despite the fact that I didn’t see anything Pioneery, it was a good excuse for a bunch of us church going folk to gather and eat. We like to do that sort of thing.

My first time on a German highway, behind the wheel of an old beater, the realization that the gas in the tank isn’t going to get me as far as I hoped, and my fear of the Polizei, all kept me from pulling off to the side of the road to take photos. You’ll have to take my word for it: the drive was beautiful! Don’t worry though, it’s a route we will take frequently so I will get pictures.

I arrived at the park just in time for the burger line to be less than a decade long. And just in time to make a new friend who stood in line in front of me.

I’ll be honest here and say that I have trust issues when it comes to making friends. It has a lot to do with being hurt by people I trusted in the past. A lot of it also has to do with my genetic makeup; anxiety thinks it’s our boon companion. I don’t like being anxious about things and I often walk away from a social function feeling sorry for any vibes that I put off because of it. And amazed at how easy it seems to be for other people.

Living in a new country does something to you. It redefines you. You can be anyone you want to be because nobody there has met you before. It’s a chance to be the social girl. At least that’s what I keep telling myself.

Here’s a photo of a Germany scene just so you don’t feel slighted.


Coming home knowing I made a new friend and got to know a few more people was rewarding. The fact that the gal in line lives an hour away is disappointing.

Ah, but what’s an hour to an adventurer?

After the picnic this is what I dealt with.

This is the look I get when I’m sure he his letting me know his bestest buddy has been gone too long and I’m just not as good at rough housing as he is.

And in case I didn’t get it from the glare, he’s going to tell me how he feels.

So then I attempt to wrestle with him. But he’s distracted by the camera’s flashing timer light and beeping.

We miss you Alan! Happy flying for 19 hours. We’ll see you Monday morning.

And because I felt a little bit jipped by the activity today, I want to pay homage to my pioneer heritage with this video with a message from a dear man who happens to be from Germany.

Couldn’t get the video to embed so here’s the link: We All Share Pioneer Legacy

One thought on “I Can Do Hard Things

  1. Good for you Lyns!!! I’m so glad you got brave. I remember lots of times I did the same thing–going by myself to RS meetings–hoping to find a friend. We LOVED seeing and hugging Alan. Missed you a lot, but thanks for sharing your activities with us.

Your comments are the butter to my bread.

