Laughing About ADHD Who Me?

It’s only been in recent years that I realized I have ADHD. It went unnoticed (or I was in denial) in large part due to my ADHD. I was distracted by other things that appeared to be bigger in the mirror. I guess. I was also ignorant of the fact that hyperactivity didn’t have to be present to have other characteristics. It all gets called ADHD to make it easier on the world.

It used to be embarrassing that I have been interested in and tried so many different hobbies (you should see all the tabs I have open on my browser)… Mrs. Guilt, at your service! But since learning about ADHD and talking with family members who also have it, I’m learning to be comfortable in my own skin, a happier person. Diagnosing doesn’t mean it has to be an excuse for “bad behavior” or “bad habits”. Learning about it brings understanding for those of us who get overwhelmed with all of our ADHD characteristics.

I have to say–my family members are ALL amazing at what they achieve despite their glorious genetic inheritance. They have taught me a lot about finding ways to live a better quality of life.

My favorite tool in dealing with ADHD is to laugh at myself. Because, frankly,  I’ve wasted too many hours of my life being self loathing about my forgetfulness, inability to complete tasks, cutting people off in conversation, procrastination, disorganization, and forgetfulness. Whew! 

Now, for a few jokes and quotes for all of us ADHDers out there:

#1  – Joke (our family favorite):

Question: How many kids with ADHD does it take to screw in a lightbulb?

Answer: Wanna go ride bikes?

___

#2 – Quote:

I stopped to think, and forgot to start again.
__
#3 –  Quote:
I was trying to daydream, but my mind kept wandering.
__
#4 – Some Great Things About Having ADHD:
– Can see all of your worldly possessions at one time…because they are all over the floor.
– The mind of a Pentium processor with 2 Megs of RAM.
– Able to tie seemingly unrelated thoughts together.
– Greater (or lesser in my case) tolerance for “chaos”.
– Honestly believes that anything is possible. Or that nothing can be done today…because of the chaos.
and my personal favorite…
– Make far reaching analogies that no one else understands. Writes them off as “Deep Thoughts”.
Now you know why I love Dug from Disney’s Up! so much. “Squirrel!”
And why I can’t get enough of my bestest buddy, Woody.
These two little guys will likely never be as ‘well behaved’ as their distant German Shepherd relatives, but they’re happy doggies and loved for all that they are. Let’s take a chapter from that book.
_________
Sources:
Jokes – ADHD Strategies
Adult ADHD Symptoms – ADHD Support.com

8 thoughts on “Laughing About ADHD Who Me?

  1. Good gravy, I think I might have ADHD. Never thought of that being the reason I can’t pay attention all the way through a squirrel. Seriously, I’ve put myself down too many times for the exact same squirrel. Thanks, man.

  2. Perfectly stated! I believe in the past that I have been pretty good at admitting my ditzy ways. I used to say, “I’m not getting old and forgetful, I’ve always been this way.” But since I have been Historical Society President, this ditzyness has become too embarrassing! I may have to look into getting some help. Or maybe it is Altzheimers and I am actually getting old.

  3. I have felt for some time that I am somewhere on the ADHD spectrum. My mom called me spacey and an airhead when I was a kid. I see some characteristics in my son too. I keep meaning to learn more about it, and how I can help my son manage his. Perhaps my procrastinating this has something it. I find that I am happiest when I concentrate on one thing, but tend to zone out everything else and that is sometimes a problem. I also blame my ADHD symptoms for my horrible multi-tasking when it comes to cooking. I can only do one thing at a time and if I try to manage it all it is disastrous!

    P.S. I love that your comments section has auto spell check. Muy helpful!

  4. Hi! I’ve been using your blog for the past couple days to give me something more worthwhile then television to distract me from my lack of activity. I love it! I’ve read back through April. It makes me miss you guys so much! By the way, you’re a fabulous writer. I hope your doing well! give my love to everyone!

    • Kira (that’s so weird! to call you by your first name, but if we’re going to remain friends I might as well get used to it, right?). Thank you for reading. I’m glad it’s an alternative and that you are enjoying it. We miss you too!

  5. Adaire, did you know that perfectionism is also a symptom of ADHD? 🙂 It’s a way to make up in control where we mess up and have no control. This is where I am the hardest on myself. I am very much the same with cooking…actually in any multi-tasking attempt. I don’t multi-task.

    Thanks for sharing!

  6. I’ve been trying to embrace the ADHD in me this helps:)…oh I want Ice cream, better check Facebook gota run. Love you Lyns

Your comments are the butter to my bread.

