FGF 11/8/11: What the Tasche?

I have these strange phrases that pop into my head. It’s my way of cursing, I guess. Mostly it’s just a bunch of garbley gook created at an instant that has taken on a German vocabulary twist lately, like “Creepy Knudel” (Knudel’s aren’t creepy, they’re yummy potato dumplings) or “vey vey vey punkt” (www.).

That’s not to say I haven’t cursed. I think back on those moments where my anger possessed me and the words just flew out. The effect I wanted by letting them fly (to shock and awe) was lost on the person witnessing the spew when they started laughing because then I would laugh.

Me and cursing; it’s just not my thing. Sometimes, however, I find it hysterical when people curse. I can’t help myself. Of course I could help myself, but I just don’t want to. It’s funny. It’s all in the context.

The most cursing person I have ever known was a woman who worked at the concrete manufacturing company in Kansas where I also worked. She was in a position where she supervised cursing men and collaborated with male authority figures in the construction world. Personally, I think she was trying to display her dominance.

You know what they say about a limited vocabulary associated with cursing…

My vocabulary grows by using Thesaurus.com and translate.google.com and being honked at by rude German drivers (What the Tashe!? I was in the process of shifting into gear; you didn’t have to honk the very nanosecond the light turned green!)

And just when you might be wondering how cursing relates to my Favorite German Find, I deliver.

The conqueror of my self control is when I forget to take a Tasche (bag) with me to the local German grocery stores. I have had to buy a few bags at the checkout when I have 10 at home. Sometimes I have my big pit of a purse and I’ll just shove the few items in it. Or, most often, I had to put my items back in the cart, wheel it to the car and unload, only to make 3 trips up to our second floor apartment because I was too stubborn to add yet more bags to my collection.

The solution to this problem: Meet my handy dandy, keep in my purse at all times because it’s light and folds into an envelop, reusable Tasche.


The contents passed Woody’s inspection.

The Going Green movement in the States has staked its claim on the reusable bags, but they’re pert near a necessity here. At 1.50 euro, I need to go back to IKEA (pronounced “ee-kay-uh” by the locals) and get a handful more. The more expensive, cute ones make great gift bags as well.

3 thoughts on “FGF 11/8/11: What the Tasche?

Your comments are the butter to my bread.

