FGF 1/11/12: The Duvets

I haven’t bothered to ask what the word for Duvet is in German. Google Translate is often wrong on these things so we’ll just stick with the French word. German’s use the French as an excuse for some of the words they use or the way they say them anyway.

My Favorite German Find this week is really two-fold. First there’s the duvet and then there’s the cleaning ladies who come and change the bedding on the duvets every week.

The duvet was not a concept introduced to me by living in Germany, but the individual duvets were. Living single for many years, My Al never quite got used to my knack for hogging the covers. There is a slight disadvantage to having our own covers, but we’ve adapted. (Did I just say that? Yes, I did.)

The duvets are not down but some other fill that makes them perfect for all year long. If there are times I get too hot, I just stick my feet out from underneath and the dilemma is remedied.

As you may know, 3Xweekly maid service is part of living in the apartment that we do. They stock us up on toilet paper, furnish us with clean dish and bath towels, vacuum, mop, clean the bathroom, occasionally dust, and every Wednesday they change the bedding. That’s when our bed goes from Rumplestilskin…

to Betty Albright…

With Germans, things are just. so.

It’s a simple happiness of our Wednesdays to curl up under the crisp-as-if-ironed linens and fall asleep to the gentle whiff of vinegar.

I won’t guarantee that last pickled part, but duvets are definitely in our Americanized future.

P.S. The names Albright and Rumplstilskin are of German origin and I didn’t even realize it at the moment I goofily made them a part of this post. I’m starting to wonder if Germany should be credited for everything.

4 thoughts on “FGF 1/11/12: The Duvets

  1. So nice! I want a maid. Gabbie said the bathrooms needed to be cleaned better and more often, so she volunteered. I volunteered to pay her. She wrote me a bill and left it on the fridge. It says “$1.00 each; $2.00 if gross; $2.00 extra if my clothes get bleached.”
    Evidently she climbed into the bathtub to use the Comet. –So cute! I guess I have a maid. I’ll tell her to step it up to 3 times a week, so we can stay as spiffy as you!

  2. The Germans don´t have a specific word for a duvet, since that´s completely normal there, they simply call it a blanket “die Decke” And no I can´t stop teaching people German. 🙂 I´m working on that email for you by the way. But I´ll in Germany next week, so maybe I can just call.

Your comments are the butter to my bread.

