Heidelberg Wards, Meetinghouse Directions

Readers are still stumbling upon my blog when searching for the Heidelberg Military Ward house. If you’re one of those people, I’m glad I can help.

I can’t tell you how many people get lost when trying to find the Heidelberg chapel, or find themselves on their way to Mannheim when following their GPS or online maps. I did! Which is why people find my blog post. For those of you still getting stumped when trying to find clear directions to the Heidelberg Meetinghouse, let’s set the record straight.

For any meetinghouse in the LDS church, you can go to http://mormon.org/meetinghouse to search for the nearest location, meeting time, etc. to wherever you are. It’s a fabulous tool. The problem with the online and GPS maps is that they take you along ‘appropriate’ routes, while the non- less confusing directions take you through a little by-way that is mainly used for local residents. The map will tell you “This route has restricted usage or private roads.” Until they put a gate blocking the route, use it!

In addition, if you’re taking the Strassenbahn, plugging the church address into the RNV website will tell you to get off in the town of Wieblingen which is one stop too far and you’ll be an hour late for church. You’ll want to get off at the Fachhochschule (International School) stop. It lets you off smack dab at the meetinghouse.

Ahh man, that just made me homesick for Germany and my fellow ward members! Tell them hello for me.

3 thoughts on “Heidelberg Wards, Meetinghouse Directions

  1. I was a member of the ward in the 70s, as a teenage military dependent. I have looked on GoogleEarth trying to determine the location of the former chapel (somewhere near Shroeder and Max Wolff Strss) to no avail. Things have changed too much in the neighborhood, to include apparently development of the area that was the parking lot, which was one of my hoped-for tips in finding it. (I was last though Heidelberg in 1996, and the chapel was still in use there.) Do you know or recall where it was located, and know anything about the timing or reasons given for the move to the present location?

    • Thank you for your comment, S. McHardy. That is interesting. Unfortunately I don’t know the history of the former location. The current building is fairly new; I would guess 5-8 years old. It is designed to be a type of social center for the youth (and others) to gather. The YSA meets 1-2 times per week with the Senior Couple Missionaries there who are specifically called to serve the YSAs. I haven’t heard of any other LDS building locations in the in Heidelberg area. Sorry I’m not helpful. I’ll let you know if I uncover anything on that.

Your comments are the butter to my bread.

